Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Question about QTP tutorial -
Not Solved
Hello all,
I am a beginner in QTP and I have a question related to the tutorial provided by HP. I am using the QTP 11.0.
I have a very basic question that I am hoping someone would be able to answer for me. Thanks in advance for your help.

In the QTP tutorial, chapter entitled "Creating checkpoints and using Functions", subheading "Performing a check using a function", the tutorial says, under step
4) e) Learn the 12/29/<current year> object.
From the Object Repository Manager, select Object > Add Objects. The Object Repository Manager window is minimized, and the cursor changes to a pointing hand.
Click the text string 12/29/<current year>.
Make sure that the object WebElement: 12/29/<current year> is highlighted in the Object Selection dialog box.
Click OK. The 12/29/<current year> object is added to your repository.

My question is, why does QTP have to learn the 12/29/<current year> object?
Shouldn't it be able to recognize it from the repository which we created in chapter "Creating Object Repositories", subheading "Using Multiple Object Repositories" step 6 - Create a new shared object repository, add objects to it, and save the repository.
I am pasting Step 6 again here for your convenience.
  1. a. In the Flight Finder page, click Continue. The Select Flight page opens. You are now ready to add objects from this page.

2. b. Switch to the Object Repository Manager window and choose File > New. A blank shared object repository opens.

3. c. In the Object Repository Manager window, choose Object > Navigate and Learn. Both QuickTest and the Object Repository Manager are hidden.

4. d. Click the Select Flight page title bar to change the focus from the Navigate and Learn toolbar to the Web page you want QuickTest to learn