Please ensure to include your code between [code][/code] tags while asking or replying to questions.

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

qtp 11 , win 7 , IE 8

11-20-2010, 03:13 PM
Post: #1
Solved: 1 Year, 1 Month, 4 Days, 18 Hours, 19 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago qtp 11 , win 7 , IE 8

hi i am on win 7 OS running qtp 11 trial 1 version with IE 8 .

My issue is while recording only window objects are recognized but no web objects are being recorded .Please guide .

varun
varun27librian@gmail.com
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-20-2010, 03:22 PM
Post: #2
Solved: 1 Year, 1 Month, 4 Days, 18 Hours, 19 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: qtp 11 , win 7 , IE 8
Hi Varun,

This is a very frequent question asked. Make sure you have taken care of following things,

You should

> open QTP first, other applications (Browser) next

> associate Web Add-in, though its default some time we unintentionally untick the option.

Hope this helps.

Happy Testing
Prabhat
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-20-2010, 03:41 PM
Post: #3
Solved: 1 Year, 1 Month, 4 Days, 18 Hours, 19 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: qtp 11 , win 7 , IE 8
nopes this dint help , first i open qtp wid all default add ins checked ..then i record but same result as always
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-20-2010, 07:08 PM
Post: #4
Solved: 1 Year, 1 Month, 4 Days, 18 Hours, 19 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: qtp 11 , win 7 , IE 8
Hi,
there are 2 things that you can try:
1. Right Click and run QTP as an Administrator and then try recording or recognizing objects.
2. Open QTP, go to Record and Run Settings and navigate to the Web tab and change the settings from a specific browser settings to 'Record on any open browser' setting and then try recording or recognizing objects.

Hope this helps.

Thanks
MV
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-23-2010, 06:51 AM
Post: #5
Solved: 1 Year, 1 Month, 4 Days, 18 Hours, 19 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: qtp 11 , win 7 , IE 8
Dear MV

it worked , koool . any specific reason why running as an admin works ,???
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-25-2010, 07:42 PM
Post: #6
Solved: 1 Year, 1 Month, 4 Days, 18 Hours, 19 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: qtp 11 , win 7 , IE 8
Hi Varun,
If you look at QTP requirements, it states that for QTP to successfully work on any environment, it needs to have admin level privileges to some of its files/registry options to perform its functionality. Since Windows 7 has bought in levels of security, your User ID on your test PC might NOT have had all the admin level privileges. Hence right click and running as an admin fixed your issue. Also to avoid the hassle of always having to right click and run it as an admin, just do a one time setting by right clicking on QTP desktop shortcut and select Properties. Navigate to Compatibility Tab and check the option Run as Administrator. If you want this setting to be retained for all the users that might use that PC, Click on the Button that says for all Users and do the same.

Hope this helps.
Thanks
MV
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-29-2011, 04:36 PM
Post: #7
Solved: 1 Year, 1 Month, 4 Days, 18 Hours, 19 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: qtp 11 , win 7 , IE 8
Thanks...Cooolll post. This discussion helped me resolving my issue...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 04:53 AM
Post: #8
Solved: 1 Year, 1 Month, 4 Days, 18 Hours, 19 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: qtp 11 , win 7 , IE 8
Hello,

Just today i installed QTP 11, on Window 7 IE 8.

Though launching QTP as admin, Web objects were not recognized.


How to get this resolved. Let me know.


Regards,
Geethika
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 08:55 AM
Post: #9
Solved: 1 Year, 1 Month, 4 Days, 18 Hours, 19 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: qtp 11 , win 7 , IE 8
Disable User Account Control (UAC).
Navigate to Control Panel\User Accounts and Family Safety\User Accounts and change the setting to never notify.
That should help you

Regards,
Ravi
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-14-2011, 11:43 AM
Post: #10
Solved: 1 Year, 1 Month, 4 Days, 18 Hours, 19 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: qtp 11 , win 7 , IE 8
beacause of addins
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Win object instead of combobox excellentpawan123 1 213 07-15-2014 10:29 AM
Last Post: excellentpawan123
  UFT object Identification Issues with Win 8 and IE 10 Browser rajeshnunna 1 580 11-21-2013 07:34 PM
Last Post: rajeshnunna
  QTP 11, Win 7 - Issue while saving the Excel through the script.bu fine in XP sivasuman 0 388 11-15-2013 01:38 PM
Last Post: sivasuman
  QTP 11 - Chrome 24. Dialog box is identifying as Win object. Kannan R 0 699 08-13-2013 08:10 PM
Last Post: Kannan R
  Cannot identify image of win object Salem 0 560 06-14-2013 12:32 PM
Last Post: Salem



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)