Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums
Iterations settings - Printable Version

+- Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Micro Focus UFT (earlier known as QTP) (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-Micro-Focus-UFT-earlier-known-as-QTP)
+--- Forum: UFT / QTP Beginners (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-UFT-QTP-Beginners)
+--- Thread: Iterations settings (/Thread-Iterations-settings)



Iterations settings - swetha.b - 12-05-2009

Hi ALL,

My test run starts from login and ends with creating a record with few combinations involved in between.

My requirement is this- After first iteration I want QTP not to start over again with login page rather to just start with creating an Account record.
So could any body help me how do I set this condition?

Note: Login should only happen in the first iterations rest all should follow from creating a record.


RE: Iterations settings - sreekanth chilam - 12-05-2009

Hi ,

Try with the below steps:

Step1 :
File>Settings>Run>choose "Run Only One Iteration"

Step2:
Code:
'  Login Code
       ----------
       ----------
       ----------
     For i=1 to Datatable.GetSheet("AccountCreation").GetRowCount
           Datatable.GetSheet("AccountCreation").SetCurrentRow(i)
            ------ Account Creation code here -------
     Next



RE: Iterations settings - nil - 12-07-2009

Try to make use of Reusable Action

Creat Login ,Add Account Action.

Call Login ' First Call

Call Add Account
'
'
'
'
'
'
'
n times


Thanks


RE: Iterations settings - v_selvam - 12-07-2009

Diclare a global variable

Code:
Dim bLoggedIn = False

Function Login()
if bLoggedIn = False Then
   "Login here"
   bLoggedIn = True
End If
End Function

call this function in your script.


RE: Iterations settings - samson - 12-07-2009

Hi,
Try these Steps below:
1: Split the action from where you need qtp to do the iteration.
2: Set action call properties of login action as " Run one iteration only" and the other action as per the requirement through action call properties.
Welcome
Samson.B


RE: Iterations settings - swetha.b - 12-08-2009

Hi All,
@samson . I have done the same settings , I split the login action as one - Action 1_1 and account creation as Action 1_2.
For Action1_1 - Action call properties- One Iteration only
For Action 1_2 - Action call properties - Run on all rows.
Note: Login details are not in the data table. They set as constants in the script.

When I run the test .. I happen to see login page every time an iteration ends. I even noticed that due to these settings only one row in the datatable is executed/retrieved on every iteration. Implies same record is created every time QTP runs next iteration.

Was there a mistake in my settings??

Regards
Swetha
@ Srikanth

My datatable is in global sheet.

How do I declare this statement :- For i=1 to Datatable.GetSheet("AccountCreation").GetRowCount??

Could you be more clear on the explanation please.

Thanks
Swetha


RE: Iterations settings - samson - 12-09-2009

The Action which we need to iterate for n times , need to perameterized right.
1: If so, we need to create a local sheet for qtp to pass the values to the required field (not in Global sheet).
2: Then set the Action Call Properties.

Thank you,
Welcome,
Samson.B