Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums
Do we have any property like "sync" in Window based application - Printable Version

+- Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Micro Focus UFT (earlier known as QTP) (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-Micro-Focus-UFT-earlier-known-as-QTP)
+--- Forum: UFT / QTP Beginners (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-UFT-QTP-Beginners)
+--- Thread: Do we have any property like "sync" in Window based application (/Thread-Do-we-have-any-property-like-sync-in-Window-based-application)



Do we have any property like "sync" in Window based application - venkatbatchu - 01-19-2010

Could you please refresh me with the below scenario?

Version: QTP 10
I have a application like Java Add-ins, i have a scenario like

I have a one "Edit field" and "Show All" , by entering a required name (like venkat) and clicking on "Show All" button it is displaying the corresponding list with the name consists of "Venkat"(Like venkat batchu, venkat babu, venkatesh, venkat raman,.......). But to load all the names it is taking some time (which is varying)

Do we have any kind of sync property to compensate this?


Thanks in advance,
Venkat.Batchu


RE: Do we have any property like "sync" in Window based application - sepgs2004 - 01-19-2010

I see Java objects (like Java List) have Exist property or WaitProperty method. We can use this.


RE: Do we have any property like "sync" in Window based application - venkatbatchu - 01-19-2010

Could you please explain it more in this?
if we know that any object is been displaying after performing then we could have go with
If object.Exist(10) then
-----
----
End If

Here we dont know the exact object , here it is taking time to load the data displayed on the application.

Thanks in advance,
Venkat.Batchu


RE: Do we have any property like "sync" in Window based application - sreekanth chilam - 01-19-2010

Hi ,

Use "WaitProperty" method.

Refer 'Help' file for more Info.


RE: Do we have any property like "sync" in Window based application - venkatbatchu - 01-19-2010

Hi Sreekanth,
Thanks for prompt response,
By using the waitproperty we need to supply the "PropertyName" ,"Property Value" and "Timed out" what shall i give the property name if i go with this.
Please do needfully,

Thanks in advance,
Venkat.Batchu


RE: Do we have any property like "sync" in Window based application - sepgs2004 - 01-19-2010

Just run your application once, wait until this object appears, then you can add this object using object repository, then just add .Exist using the learned object.
Or you can wait until the object appears on, hit record, then just choose something on this object, stop the recording, come to the expert view, see the code and use it to modify...
Hope this helps.
Sorry for my explanation, if its not clear.

Also if you are sure this object is going to certainly show up, you can use WaitProperty as recommended. I think Exist() without any parameter value will return immediately.