Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums
HoW to write script for launching IE? - Printable Version

+- Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Micro Focus UFT (earlier known as QTP) (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-Micro-Focus-UFT-earlier-known-as-QTP)
+--- Forum: UFT / QTP Beginners (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-UFT-QTP-Beginners)
+--- Thread: HoW to write script for launching IE? (/Thread-HoW-to-write-script-for-launching-IE)



HoW to write script for launching IE? - bhawin - 10-18-2010

Hi Ankur,


I Want to open Internet Explorer and then want to navigate google.com with the help of descriptive programming in QTP 9.2.
I am giving the descriptions in the form of string arguments.

Just check this script:

Code:
SystemUtil.Run "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"
    Browser("Class Name:=Browser","title:=about:blank").Page("Class Name:=Page","width:=1440").Sync
    Browser("Class Name:=Browser","title:=about:blank").Navigate "google.com"

I am getting General Run Error. I used Msgbox.Errnumber after the script to know the error number but i was not able to solve the problem with the help of that error number.
Please help me out.!!!

Thanks and Regards
Bhawin Joshi


RE: HoW to write script for launching IE? - PrabhatN - 10-18-2010

Hi Bhawin,

Try the code below

Code:
SystemUtil.Run "iexplore","www.google.com"



RE: HoW to write script for launching IE? - bhawin - 10-18-2010

Thanks Prabhat

Its Working..!!!!Big Grin


RE: HoW to write script for launching IE? - suresh.jakka - 10-19-2010

This script is not working.


RE: HoW to write script for launching IE? - KavitaPriyaCR - 10-19-2010

Hi Suresh
Code:
SystemUtil.Run "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"
Browser("title:=about:blank").Page("Class Name:=Page","width:=1440").Sync
Browser("title:=about:blank").Navigate "google.com"

Will work, and one more thing is , as u are specifying the width:=1440 here which is virual property...this will not wok 100/100 times.


RE: HoW to write script for launching IE? - bhawin - 10-19-2010

U can use script given by prashanth...

Its working fine and fabulous..!!!Big Grin
Hi kavitha,
can u tell me which properties we need to specify and which i cant specify..

like width is a virtual property ...what are other virtual properties...


RE: HoW to write script for launching IE? - KavitaPriyaCR - 10-19-2010

width,height,x and y coordinates....which are dependent on window size and location.
I had not seen the last replies that u got it working...i just tried the same code to work, to know what was the problem.


RE: HoW to write script for launching IE? - bhawin - 10-19-2010

OK thanks a lot..!!!! Kavita

Smile


RE: HoW to write script for launching IE? - KavitaPriyaCR - 11-08-2010

Hi two ways of launching Google in IE is:
1.
Code:
SystemUtil.Run "http://www.google.co.in/"

2.
Code:
Set oIE=CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
oIE.Visible=True
oIE.Navigate "http://www.google.co.in/"