Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums
QTP not identifying the Windows objects - Printable Version

+- Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Micro Focus UFT (earlier known as QTP) (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-Micro-Focus-UFT-earlier-known-as-QTP)
+--- Forum: UFT / QTP Others (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-UFT-QTP-Others)
+--- Thread: QTP not identifying the Windows objects (/Thread-QTP-not-identifying-the-Windows-objects)



QTP not identifying the Windows objects - Tinu - 01-23-2008

The application is developed in C. When i am trying to record this application, its not identifying many of the objects like Combo box, list box, etc. For all the combo box in the frame, the properties is same when QTP is used. Only position differs(which i cant use for my scripting). So, i tried with the virtual objects, but i wasnt successfull. Is there any other way to identify these specific C objects?


RE: QTP not identifying the Windows objects - Rajesh - 01-23-2008

Hi,

I think you can go for descriptive programming.


RE: QTP not identifying the Windows objects - Tinu - 01-24-2008

Thank You Rajesh. But for descriptive programming also, there should be a unique property so that the object can be identified. But in this scenario, all the objects in the frame has the same property. So how can we go for the descriptive programming also? Can anyone plz suggest a solution?


RE: QTP not identifying the Windows objects - Ankur - 01-24-2008

hmmm... interesting... Have you tried using "index" or "location" ordinal identiifer?


RE: QTP not identifying the Windows objects - Tinu - 01-25-2008

Hi Ankur,
Thanks for the reply. We tried with Object Identification. We tried to map the customized C object into standard Windows object. Still its not recognizing the objects uniquely.


RE: QTP not identifying the Windows objects - Ankur - 01-25-2008

you didn't reply to my previous question!


RE: QTP not identifying the Windows objects - Tinu - 01-25-2008

Hi Ankur,
Sorry. ya, i tried with location ordinal identifer. But its not fully successful. I set the ordinal identifier. After that i used the object spy on objects. When i am using the object spy, for the first object, its showing all the proper properties. But when i move the object spy to other object, again the previous scenario appears( same properties for all the objects). I am getting confused.


RE: QTP not identifying the Windows objects - Rajesh - 01-25-2008

If all the objects are identifying uniquely then you can go for discriptive programming with the help of index.
for example

Consider the HTML code given below

Code:
<INPUT type=”textbox” name=”txt_Name”>
<INPUT type=”textbox” name=”txt_Name”>

Now the html code has two objects with same description. So distinguish between these 2 objects we will use the “index” property. Here is the description for both the object

Code:
For 1st textbox:
    obj_Desc(“html tag”).value= “INPUT”
obj_Desc(“name”).value= “txt_Name”
obj_Desc(“index”).value= “0”

For 2nd textbox:
    obj_Desc(“html tag”).value= “INPUT”
obj_Desc(“name”).value= “txt_Name”
obj_Desc(“index”).value= “1”

If you go through the Descriptive programming fully i think you might get some new ideas.
I am also a begineer so my apologies if I said some thing wrong.


RE: QTP not identifying the Windows objects - Tinu - 01-25-2008

Hello Rajesh,

Its Ok for HTML applications. But my application is developed in C for which the object doesnt hav any unique properties. In that case, how will the descreptive programming will help?


RE: QTP not identifying the Windows objects - anushachanda - 09-07-2012

Hi,
I am facing the same issue, there are no unique properties to go with the descriptive programming . Record and Playback option is also not working . Can anyone suggest if there is anyother possible way for this.
Thank you,
Anusha.