Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums
very newbie question - Printable Version

+- Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Micro Focus UFT (earlier known as QTP) (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-Micro-Focus-UFT-earlier-known-as-QTP)
+--- Forum: UFT / QTP Beginners (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-UFT-QTP-Beginners)
+--- Thread: very newbie question (/Thread-very-newbie-question)



very newbie question - rudya - 03-05-2009

in the test website http://newtours.demoaut.com/
if you login with tutorial/tutorial it loads
http://newtours.demoaut.com/mercuryreservation.php
if you use a bad id/password it loads
http://newtours.demoaut.com/mercurysignon.php

how do I start in creating a test in which a value is returned depending on which page was loaded thereby telling me if the correct password was used?

sorry for the very beginner question as I am new to web programming and qtp
thanks


RE: very newbie question - sepgs2004 - 03-06-2009

There is a tutorial or user guide involving this demo application. Doing the complete tutorial would not take longer than couple days. This should give pretty much a good basic understanding. This is what I did a month ago. Seems to help so far.


RE: very newbie question - rudya - 03-18-2009

I went thru the tutorial for version 10
but I still have questions
I've create a test with a checkpoint
if it succeeds the logon is ok if it fails the password was wrong
( I just check if the page after a correct login is loaded)
how do I trap the failed value of the checkpoint and report it externally


RE: very newbie question - farhanalam - 03-18-2009

Hi,

Not exactly sure if I understood correctly, but see if you are looking for something which sends a message to report:

Code:
Reporter.Filter = rfEnableAll
reporter.ReportEvent micDone, "Complete", "Full Application Finished"
Reporter.Filter = rfDisableAll

Regards


RE: very newbie question - sepgs2004 - 03-20-2009

If logon fails, a page with some unique message will be loaded, right?, add a text check point to see if the login-failure text message is available on the page. Hope it helps.


RE: very newbie question - rudya - 03-23-2009

finally got this to work as a vb script
Code:
Dim qtApp
dim DataTable
Set qtApp = CreateObject("QuickTest.Application") ' Create the Application object
qtApp.Launch ' Start QuickTest
qtApp.Visible = false ' Make the QuickTest application invisible
qtApp.Open "c:\fromDK"  ' open test
qtapp.test.DataTable.Import ("C:\name.xls") 'import acct to test
qtapp.test.run
MsgBox qtapp.Test.LastRunResults.Status 'see result of attempt
qtapp.quit

the xls file contains an id and a password and the msgbox displays pass or fail


but now I want to see if I can input the parameters to the data table from the command line of the vb script so I looked at automating parameter input and tried this from the automation reference

'Description:
'
'This example opens a test with predefined parameters,' gets a collection of parameter definitions, Loops on it and display each parameter details,
' gets a collection of run-time parameters, change the value of one of them, run the test with parameters,
' after the test run - display the value of one of the out parameters.
'
'Assumptions:
' the test D:\Tests\Mytest contain in parameter called "InParam1" and out parameter called "OutParam1"
'************************************************************************************************************************
Code:
Dim qtApp 'As QuickTest.Application ' Declare the Application object variable
Dim pDefColl 'As QuickTest.ParameterDefinitions ' Declare a Parameter Definitions collection
Dim pDef ' As QuickTest.ParameterDefinition ' Declare a ParameterDefinition object
Dim rtParams 'As QuickTest.Parameters ' Declare a Parameters collection
Dim rtParam ' As QuickTest.Parameter ' Declare a Parameter object
'Dim cnt, Indx As Integer
Set qtApp = CreateObject("QuickTest.Application") ' Create the Application object
qtApp.Launch ' Start QuickTest
'qtApp.Visible = True ' Make the QuickTest application visible
qtApp.Open "c:\fromDK3"
' Retrieve the parameters collection defined for the test.
Set pDefColl = qtApp.Test.ParameterDefinitions
cnt = pDefColl.Count
Indx = 1
' Display the names and values of each of the parameters in the collection.
Msgbox(cnt)    ‘   this always shows 0
While Indx <= cnt
    Set pDef = pDefColl.Item(Indx)
    MsgBox "Param name: " & pDef.Name & "; Type: " & pDef.Type & "; InOut: " & pDef.InOut & "; Description: " _
        & pDef.Description & "Default value: " & pDef.DefaultValue
    Indx = Indx + 1
Wend
Set rtParams = pDefColl.GetParameters() ' Retrieve the Parameters collection defined for the test.
Set rtParam = rtParams.Item("InParam1") ' ****bombs here
rtParam.Value = "Hello" ' Change the parameter value.
qtApp.Test.Run , True, rtParams ' Run the test with changed parameters.
MsgBox rtParams.Item("OutParam1").Value ' Display the value of an output parameter after the test runs.
quit qtapp
get element not found even though when I open up the test in qt it shows a data table like this
InParam1 OutParam1 C D E
InValue OutValue


so I am unable to get the count of items in the datatable or view parameters
any suggestions?