Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Automating a frequently updated website
Not Solved
Hi all,

I work as a test analyst for a supermarket online business.
Normally there is a new release of the website after every 2 - 3 months
New release consists of new enhancements requested by business analysts.

So far we were conducting manual testing. But now we are thinking of automating the test scripts. But the problem is with every release after 2 - 3 months some of the features of the website changes.
For example search box for searching the products is with a different design in release 1 but in release 2 search box will be redesigned.

In these circumstances of website changing frequently is it possible to automate the test scripts.

I am just concerned if we automate scripts using release 1 will it be possible to playback the scripts in release 2

Response is highly appreciated.

Regards,
Muji
Not Solved MyBB 
Hi Muji
Greetings of the Day!
The main concern of Automation is to save the manual effort and speed up the testing process.

So at any point anyone can automate any scenarios but the question is "Whether Automation is Going to Help you or Not"?

When we automate any product then with every release we do regression testing and check whether application is working properly or not.Incase if their is any failure due to functionality change then we update the script. We use Version Control to keep track of changes.

In your case if every release has complete change then no point of automating it but if like some features are keep changing then you can automate it.I mean to say that every release if too much changes are there then no use of automation then.

Ex:

Google has one TextBox and two Buttons for Search. So I will automate the Search Scenario. Like Validation of Text,AutoText,Object Existence ,Buttons and search records .