Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Automation Frameworks using QTP
Solved: 10 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago
I have some theoritrical knowledge of QTP with little practical knowledge of QTP. So, I would be greatful if somebody explain me the process of setting up automation framework within a organisation that is moving to automation testing from manual testing.
Abhilas rght now2 i am working on Frame work .You can search the blog dor meore details
For your reference i can provide you with some info like

There are 4 types of frame works in QTP

1. Linear frame work
2. Modular frame work
3. Keyword driven frame work
4. Hybrid frame work

1. Linear framework
This is normal process like recording or scripting the program and executing it. This is not reusable, once executing this script.
2. Modular framework
This is different from liner frame work, here recording or scripting the program and those script split into actions and make those actions as reusable actions. These reusable actions can use any where in the test.
3. Keyword driven automation framework: QTP supports to keyword driven automation framework.

It's an application independent Automation Framework
This Framework will have following components:

1) Data tables /Excel Sheets containing Keywords, Object Names and Object Values. This is the only component which is application dependent. Keywords are the words that we used to represent the test case.

For example VerifyEditbox. This can be used to represent the test case: Verify whether the Edit box is accepting the entered text.

2) Test Driver. This contains the scripts to drive the test. Usually it will contain the code for taking keywords one by one from the data table and call respective subroutines for each keyword using the Switch case statement.

3) Common Function Library. This contains all the common functions that are needed to test any application.

PROCESS OF CREATING FRAME WORK