Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Estimate for preparing a basic test script
Not Solved
Hi everyone,
I am new to QTP and am using QTP v11. Once I am up to speed, my management wants me to start automating some test scripts for a web application being used.

I am asked to provide an estimate for 1 simple script now, based on which they can estimate the overall efforts for ~500 scripts available.

The sample script given to me should do the following steps:
1) Hit the Web URL. Login page will be displayed.
2) Login to the application.
3) Go to Item Master->Add Item.
4) Input data on the form, ~20 fields. Leave 1 mandatory field empty.
5) Click Save. Message for 'Field is Required' will be displayed.
6) Input the mandatory field value.
7) Click Save. Success message for 'Item Saved' will be displayed.

The failure at any step (and final success) should be logged with details (however that framework is already existing and needs to be used within this sample script).

The estimate breakup should have:
1) Time for 'recording'.
2) Time to manually edit the recorded script and implement the checks for pass/fail conditions.
3) Time for 'execution' of script.

Can anyone suggest the ballpark estimates per script like this, based on your experience so far?

Thanks in advance.

This is a priority request, hence would appreciate some swift responses and help.
Not Solved
1. SystemUtil.Run "iexplore.exe", "url of the application"
2. For Login basically for login we need username and password
Code:
Browser(micclass:=Browser).Page("micclass:=Page").WebEdit("name:=Username").Set "username of the web application"
Browser(micclass:=Browser).Page("micclass:=Page").WebEdit("name:=Password").Set "password of the web application"
if the login icon is image use the first statement and if the login is a button use 2nd statement
Code:
Browser(micclass:=Browser).Page("micclass:=Page").Image("name:=Login").Click