Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Is QTP supposed to record view of web page?
Solved: 10 Years, 9 Months ago
Hello,

I am new to using QTP (version 9.2). I have been reading through materials provided by my employer and the help section within QTP. I am a new systems analyst and have been asked how to create some simple automated test cases for a web application using QTP. We will record in IE 6.

I have the ActiveX, Visual Basic, Web and Web Services plug-ins loaded. When I record my test case I have it open the browser. Once on that page I click on a hyperlink and then end my recording. QTP does not record that view of the second page. Is that how it is supposed to work?

Thank you,
jhs01
It should display the second page should be displayed... the question is did you record the Closing of the browser?
if you view the expert view as your recording then you can see what page was recordered.

you may want to put an wait or exist command in so you know if the second page has been loaded.

If you did record the closing of the browser and did not have a wait or exist command it could be possible that the script is closing milliseconds after you hit the link.
Hi jhs01,,
May i ask you when did you ended your recording?
After opening the second page or after clicking the hyperlink ?

But in QTP you can view each recording step screenshot.
Hello,

Thank you for the responses to my question. I appreciate the help of this forum.

I ended the recording after the second page loaded. This is what shows up in Expert View.
Code:
Browser("Fidelity Investments").Page("Fidelity Investments").WinObject("MacromediaFlashPlayerActiveX").Click 55,255
I selected Record from the toolbar. I chose "Open the following address..." as www.fidelity.com