Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Object Spy does not detect objects
Not Solved
Hi,

I am a beginner. I was going through the QTP tutorial to learn the basics.

In chapter: HP QuickTest Professional Tutorial > Creating Object Repositories > Learning Objects in Your Application, they tell you how to use object spy, in order to display object class and name (Step no. 5). That is, when you pin object spy to the right hand side of your screen click on the hand symbol, and redirect your mouse to user name text box on http://newtours.demoaut.com/, the the hierarchy box should display object name and class as WebEdit:userName.

However, the problem I am facing here is; when I move my mouse over the website, I get only one kind of object class all over, WinObject. It considers the entire screen as a single object instead of counting sub objects on the browser differently.

Please help me figure out the problem and resolve this issue. I am unable to go ahead Sad
Not Solved
if the spy recognizing web objects as Winobjects. make sure you launch QTP first. then launch the applicaton in browser.

Not Solved
Still doesn't work Sad Infact i even installed the Add-ons required by qtp11 to support IE9 and 64-bit. Now it detects every object as WinEdit or so.
Not Solved
Swathi is right if you still face the problem do a normal recording and observe, it should work.

-Dinesh
Not Solved
Still doesn't work Sad Infact i even installed the Add-ons required by qtp11 to support IE9 and 64-bit. Now it detects every object as WinEdit or so.
Not Solved
Hi All,
I am facing the same problem. Did you find a solution? If anyone knows how to fix it please help me. I just have 8 days left on my QTP trial.
Thank you
-Sree

None of the methods suggested fixed the issue.When I tried to record to get hold of the objects its recording everything as "WinObjects". I tried using different browsers. Its still the same.
Not Solved
Hi,