Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
QTP/QC installation
Not Solved
Hello,

I'm a beginner with QTP/QC. We will be using it onsite except for one user that will be working via a VPN.

We have just purchased 1 license Mercury Functional Testing Package
and 5 concurrent licenses QC.

I have doubts about what is best for the initial installation,

1. Shall I install both QC and the functional testing concurrent license server in the same Server machine?

2. I assume that anyone wanting to run either QC or QTP shall have the corresponding SW installed at their PCs in the normal way, including the VPN user, is that right? or is there anything special about the VPN?

3. Where is project data/scripts stored?

We will be using MS SQL Server, and that seems to me a good choice for storing the QC project data rather than files, but are the QTP scripts also stored in the SQL database when QC and QTP are integrated? or are the scripts stored in a folder structure at the Server machine (in a shared hard drive)?
Not Solved
Hi,

For your third question, I think you can store your QTP Scripts in quality center.
I follow the same procedure in my project. All the test scripts, function libraries, repository files we can store in qtp.

I dont have any idea about SQL Server.
Not Solved
Thanks Rajesh for the reply,

I am looking forward to storing the QC project data in an SQL database, but I am not sure whether the QTP scripts can be stored there as well or not.

With respect to my second question, I understand that:

- Functional Testing concurrent license server shall be installed in a server, and then Functional Testing SW can be installed at any machine that will potentially be running it (even if we only got one license).

- QC shall be installed in the server, and all potential clients can access to it by means of a web browser connecting to http://application_server_name: port_number/qcbin

Is this right? Or do client machines need anything else to access QC?
Not Solved