Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
QTP and Multiple Users
Solved: 10 Years, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago
Hi,

I am new with QTP and self teaching myself.

I plan to have a test script which contains reusable actions (which includes Login, Sequence of Actions in order and logout) and store the same in a share location in one of our network drive.

Can someone please advise me how to go from here if many users has to use this test script with their respective datatable. Following are my questions.

1) Can the Test script be shared between many users at the same time? If yes, will it require any special setup?

2) Does each user require QTP installed in their local machine or QTP can be invoked from a central location in one of our network location?

3) How user administration can be performed in terms of privileges through QTP?

For information, we intend to use QTP 9.2.

Thanks in advance for your response.
Subha

Subha -

My answers below,

1) Can the Test script be shared between many users at the same time? If yes, will it require any special setup? Test script per say at the same time cannot be opened by multiple users from the same location and edited.

2) Does each user require QTP installed in their local machine or QTP can be invoked from a central location in one of our network location? Yes. Each of the user requires QTP to be installed on their location machine and it cannot be invoked from a central location which could be used by many.

3) How user administration can be performed in terms of privileges through QTP? What kind of administration are you looking for? There arent as such. The licenses dont come as admin or non-admin. Once you install QTP with a valid license, thats it. There is no user administration there.
Basanth
Give a fish to a man and you feed him for a day..Teach a man how to fish and you feed him for life.
Solved: 10 Years, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago Big Grin 
Thanks Basant. Your response was informative and very helpful to me.