Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Use regular Expression to find node item in swfTreeView
Solved: 10 Years, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago
Hello,

I'm new to QTP and evaluating it with Infragistics TestAdvantage at the moment. I have an application with an Infragistics UltraTree which is found by QTP as SwfTreeView. The selection of the nodes in this tree works fine with the select method like this:

Code:
SwfWindow("MyApp").SwfTreeView("myTree").Expand "\Root\Child1\Child2"

This method needs the text of the node to find it. As I can't exactly say what the Child2 nodes text will be (there might be some additional characters in front of "Child2") I wanted to use regular expressions to find the node, is that possible? The following code didn't work for me:

Code:
SwfWindow("MyApp").SwfTreeView("myTree").Expand"\Root\Child1\*Child2"

Is it even possible to use regular expressions in this case?

Is there another possibility to find a node in a tree by a regular expression? Or is it possible to loop through all nodes and compare their text to a given one?

I also tried to get a String with all the nodes using:

Code:
SwfWindow("MyApp").SwfTreeView("myTree").GetContent

and then created a RegExp object to look for the pattern in this string but with no success.

In some thread I read about a check box in QTP to enable the regular expression usage but I can't find it in the qtp application. Do I have to enable it before it works correctly? I'm a bit puzzled about that now.

Any hints about that appreciated.

Regards

Simone
I was able to solve the problem getting the list with all the nodes using GetContent and then looking for the regular expression. Unfortunately my expression was not quite correct. Now it works and I also found the check box that I read about in several posts. This forum is really useful, thanks.

Regards

Simone
good that you got the answer...
You can put the solution here so that others having similar problem can benefit from it.