Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Very confused on how to deal with run errors
Not Solved
I'm new to QTP and trying to muddle through some vbs test scripts that I inherited from my predecessor. Most of them stopped running since I took over and I'm not understanding why run errors are occurring. I have UFT 11.53, set my browser to 100%, I'm admin on my computer, IE9 with compatibility mode off, and all other requirements are met per the application's requirements.

I hope someone can point me in the right direction for my questions below. I can't find these answers anywhere, and I'm very frustrated.

These are questions on what to do when a test fails with a run error. Most of the errors are Object not found errors which I have trouble fixing. I have a basic understanding on how to use the software. I completed the included GUI tutorial, but of course they did not make it difficult by throwing in situations where errors would occur and how to fix them :/

1. How can I "Update from application" when I'm in debug mode? I think this would be the best way to fix what needs to be fixed and to send me on my way. If it can't be done in debug mode, then how?

2. Is it possible to completely empty and populate a repository when UFT identifies object errors?
a. What's the easiest way to identify the offending repository that is causing the error?
b. Is there any side effects I should be aware of if I do rebuild a repository? For example, what if other scripts use the same repository? Is there a chance they will break now that I made changes to it?

3. On the above, UFT is in read-only mode during a test. So how can I do the above if it won't let me!?