Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
how to save a text file automatically and search for some keywords
Not Solved
Hey Everybody,

I am a beginner at QTP. My QA manager gave me QTP to play with and for me to figure out a way to automate all the test plans.

We use the actual software Debugview(NOT the QTP debugview) to establish that when we play a video clip, whether if it uses our video chip or not(we look for a certain output in debugview which confirms it).

Here's what I would like to do:

1)We need to play a clip lets say 500 times to do regression testing.
2) Everytime we play the clip, it activates the Video card and turns it off when the video shuts off. As i said earlier, we look at the kernel text output on debugview to see if it turned ON or not. I need to somehow find a way to save the text file from debugview and Search it for a certain text command. That command should show up 500 times on debugview log if the clip was played correctly using our chip.
I was able to use looping and figured out how to play and close the player over and over again.
What i cant figure out is how to parse the debugview file and count if that TEXT COMMAND showed up 500 times or not.

Ill appreciate it if anyone can help me with this.

Thanks,
Syed.
Not Solved
What is the type of your debugview file? Is it a text file?
Not Solved
Syed,

It is very simple. I will give you the logic, see if you can implement it.

1. ReadAll the data in the file.
2. SPLIT it line by line.
3. Find out if a substring exist in the whole line.
4. Introduce and iterate the counter where the value is found.
5. Report the final value of the counter.

PS : Vbscript should do, and the COM i am talkin about is Scripting.Filesystemobject.

Each line which i have provided has a keyword. Try to search and you will find the end of the road soon mate !!
Basanth
Give a fish to a man and you feed him for a day..Teach a man how to fish and you feed him for life.
Not Solved