Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 2 Average
File Structure in QTP
Solved: 10 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago Wink 
Hi to all QTP gurus,

I am new to QTP and I truly appreciate for the responses and time you spent on replying

1. What is File structure in QTP ?

2. Why is File structure is used ?

3. Please explain with one real time scenario ?

4. File system vs Folder Structure ?
Solved: 10 Years, 7 Months, 3 Weeks ago
Hi,

1) I guess its like the way QTP store the scripts and other resources. [as far as i know Smile]
2) File structure is used to retrieve the data/document from the file.
3) For example if u have to work with excel application,
you have to know the DOM/ file system of the Excel application.
first u need to create the object for the application then u have to navigate from workbook and worksheet to get the data from the particular cell.

Code:
set xl = createObject(Excel.Appliction)
set wbook = xl.workbooks.Open ("<file path>","permission")
set wsheet = wbook.wsheet(1)

val = wsheet.cells(1,1).value

this will retrieve the the value from the first cell of the 1 sheet of the excel file.

4) File system is nothing but the way to store the data in file it varies with the application and the operation system.
and the folder structure is the hierarchic of the folders.

Correct me if i am wrong.

Victor~
1. folder structure qtp

in order to make easy to maintain the qtp scripts the folder structure is defined
a) Object Repository
b) Environment
c) Library
d) Test Data
e) Test Log
f) Recovery Scenarios
g) Miscellaneous
Hi Vinod,
I guess you have given the folder structure for the automation framework..

correct me if i m wrong ..
Victor~
Even i think the answer given by Vinod was a file structure of a framework only, and not for general file structure of QTP.
Hi ,

Qtp stores everything in in the local Hard drive of the system and i think the the question is related to that folder structure.
Script .mts File
An Excel sheet .xls
Resource.mtr
Action0
Action1