Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
QTP Framework
Solved: 10 Years, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago
Hi

I am very new in QTP and I am gonig to start with QTP from the next week in my company.... It will be very convenient for me if I get the answer on the following Question ASAP....

1. Say I have 50 Test Cases for Login Page, How I will manage it in QTP? I mean shall I have to write 50 Functions in a single Test....,OR I have to make 50 different Tests....How this type of conditions managed in Real Life projects....

Regards - Ronit
Before Automating Any Scenario ,Automater need to analyze the test cases.Analyzing the scenario will help to understand the fact that how many scripts,functions are required.

In General best practise is to focus on:

1. Reusablity of Code
  2. Less Maintanance
  3. Easy to Understand

~Regards
Hi All ,
The above best practise could be explained as :
1)Reusablity of Code : To find the extent of reusability ,you should know the manual functionality throughly and the filter out the common functional flow .Create reusable actions --> use call to copy of the action wherever those are repeatable and modify them accordingly .

2)Less Maintanance : Descriptive programme is a good option for this.Try to fetch the dynamic values through Datatables.

3)Easy to Understand: Follow proper identation together with naming conventions e.g : string variable with str ,integers with int so on

Please let me know if u need more details .

Regards
Punam
Mostly, the approach should be Functional + Data Driven ie Hybrid Framework. But deciding how the framework should be designed depends on the application and the flows you have.

The first thing. Analyze all the test cases and then come up with what all business flows you have. Try to see if there are any reusable flows.

For example: suppose you have 3 test cases.
1) Login and create order and logout.
2) Login and search order and modify order and logout.
3) Login and search order and delete order and logout.