Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
URL Variables
Solved: 10 Years, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago
Hi,
I'm very new to QTP so please help. I have created a number of QTP scripts and uploaded them to HPQC, connectivity is established and scripts can be played back ok.
However, my intention is to run these scripts on multiple test environments now (same screens just log in via different URLs). So I wanted to link to an external (XML?) file that contains the URL information so that changing the URL in this file would point the scripts to the desired test environment. I'm not finding this easy to do. Can you give me some advice please on setting up the first few steps of the scripts to check the external file for the URL to use when IE loads. I have tried creating and using a User Defined Environment Variable without success :-( Thanks in advance for any help.
PS If username and password can be stored in the file also that would be great.
create an XML environment file in this format, and store it in where it can always be found on disk by your tests. You can have as many "<Variable>" tags as you want in your XML file. Each "<Variable>" tag must contain a "<Name>" and a "<Value>" sub-tags.

The file must start with "<Environment>" and end with "</Environment>". Within that context, you can define whatever variables you want. In the example below, if the URL of your test server changes, you change the PRODUCT_URL tag's value.

Code:
<Environment>

<Variable>
        <Name>LOGIN_ID</Name>
        <Value>automation@gmail.com</Value>
    </Variable>         

<Variable>
        <Name>LOGIN_PASSWORD</Name>
        <Value>yourpassword</Value>
    </Variable>

<Variable>
        <Name>PRODUCT_URL</Name>
        <Value>http://www.myproductserver1.com</Value>
    </Variable>

</Environment>
When your script is ready to load and set these variable values, do this in your code:

Code:
'get the currently loaded external file name; blank if not file loaded