Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Arranging different tests into one test
Solved: 10 Years, 9 Months, 2 Weeks ago
Hello,

I have done some minor tests with QTP in the last weeks, so I am rather new to QTP. I will start working on a greater project soon.
Before starting with that, I should know how to best arrange different tests into one.

The background:
I have an application A which gets inputs from other systems like maybe SAP. So I first create some data with SAP, the application A gets this data and works with it.
Now I need to create a test, which at first inputs data into SAP and thereby creates testdata for the second system. After that the result from the second application A should be verified.

The problem is, that between submitting data into SAP and getting the results from the other application there might be a delay of about 30 minutes.
Therefore I would like to start submitting further data into SAP and when all data is inputted the verification of the second system should start.

I tried to get this done by having the two tests in two different Actions, which will be executed each with all testdata at first and then start the next Action. But the problem here is, that in the test-result there is no real dependency between the first (SAP) and the second test (verification of system A).

The question is now:
Is there a way to pause a test and start with the next test-data-set before continuing the test with the next step. The important thing would be to have a dependency between the steps and see when e.g. the system A failed within test-iteration 10, if the failure already was in the SAP-run.

I hope you understand my problem and have some good suggestions. Despite this forum seems to be quite new, you guys seem to post very actively. Thank you for answers in advance. :-)
I thought it might help to give you a better understanding of what I'm trying to do:

I need to test 2 applications: SAP and X
The test should be in the order: