Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Can anyone give me some tips to automate tests?
Not Solved
We have these requirements in our workplace... I just managed to learn to create tests individually and run them individually using QTP IDE (Run button).

Requirement 1:
I have 5 tests. I would like to have a script to run all of them in sequence. I am new to this testing domain.
Requirement 2:
Sometimes I might have to run one test so many times, every time let the test open a new browser window (should leave the earlier test browser window open). So if I ran the test 10 times, at the end, I will have 10 browser windows open.

Please give me some tips or share some info on how you do this?

Thanks for your time.
Not Solved
Soln to REQ1:
You can use 'Test Batch Runner' to run several tests in succession. (Start->All Programs->QTP->Tools->Test Batch Runner.

From 'File' menu select 'New',Then from Batch menu select 'Add'.Now 'Open Test' dialog will open and you can add your 5 test to it.Svae it as .mtb file. Now you can run it(F5 or Batch ->Run) Make sure that in QTP tools->option->run tab 'allow other mercury product to..." check box is checked.

Using Test Batch Runner, you can set up a list of tests and save the list as an .mtb file, so that you can easily run the same batch of tests again, at another time. You can also choose to include or exclude a test in your batch list from running during a batch run.

Soln Req 2:
For this in tools->option->web tab -> 'Advance' option->check the 'browser cleanup' check box under the 'run seting'
Also you can close all the browser programetically after finishing your test steps.
Code:
(use systemutil.CloseDescendentProcesses() /systemutil.CloseProcessByWndTitle("Internet Explorer")

Also let me know if this meets you requirements.
Not Solved
Thanks for the answer. I hit another issue.