Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Code won't stop looping through imported spreadsheet
Solved: 10 Years, 9 Months ago
Hi,

I'm running 9.5, testing an SAP transaction. I'm importing a data table which is working fine. It has three rows of data. I selected the "run on all rows" option. The problem I'm having is that is doesn't seem to know when to stop running.

Here is a portion of my code:

Code:
1: DataTable.Import "C:\Temp\CreateVendor2.xls"
2: Do While DataTable.GetCurrentRow <> ""
' rows of SAP code which are working fine

Code:
33: Datatable.SetNextRow
34: Loop

I have very little experience with the syntax of the loop statements. I want the code to realize that once it gets to row 5, that there is no more data. I only want it to import the speadsheet once. And the number of rows with data will change so I don't want to hard code it or have to change the run options. Thanks in advance for your help.

Mike
.GetCurrentRow will get the row number from the datatable, since the number can never be blank it won't stop looping. I would suggest you to take .GetRowCount first. This will give you the total number of active rows in the longest column of your sheet. Then loop through row count value.
Want to fast track your QTP/UFT Learning? Join our UFT Training Course
Thank you for your reply. I changed the code to this:

Code:
DataTable.Import "C:\Temp\CreateVendor2.xls"
r = DataTable.GetRowCount
Do While r >= 1

' lines of code

DataTable.SetNextRow
r = r-1
Loop

It seems to do the same thing. After the final row of data (row 3) it goes all the way to the first line of code (importing the spreadsheet) and starts over. Am I supposed to be putting this in a subroutine? I am unclear on what the code should look like. Thank you in advance for your help.

Mike
The whole action must be falling in some other loop, check the place from where you have called this action...