Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Running Shared Test in Multiple Address
Solved: 10 Years, 9 Months ago
Hi,

I am new with QTP and self learning this tool.

I have a question on how to setup dynamic address (URL) for the Same Test which has reusable actions, when they run? Since the Web Application is the same and behaves in a similar manner except the address, we plan to use the same dataset through datatable for each corresponding test.

Please advise a simple and easy to implement solution.

Thanks in advance for the help.
Subha
Use a tabular approach,

In one column have all the url's and then read through each cell containing the url and pass it to the test/action.

I may be wrong, probably because i may have not interpreted your question correctly. Would you please write up more detailed explanation which would help me to decode faster ?
Basanth
Give a fish to a man and you feed him for a day..Teach a man how to fish and you feed him for life.
Basanth,

I think you have intepreting it correctly. I am including a small example of a "login" Action and initial portion of some other Action (Say "ClientSearch"). I would like to access the similar application with dynamic URL which represents different environment (like Dev1, Dev2, QA1, QA2 and so on).

For example:
Some "x" address is used to launch the application staring with the login and going into other Action in sequence.

How can I dynamically substitute with a different address "y" if I want to run the same test in a different environment?

Will the dynamic substitution od address will dynamically take care the Browser and Page info as highligted below?

Thanks in advance.
Subha

Login Action:
Code:
Browser("[b]ent_b_6_0_markdevlan_ent_b_6_0[/b]").Page("[b]ent_b_6_0_markdevlan_ent_b_6_0[/b]").WebEdit("LoginUsername").Set "Someone"
Browser("ent_b_6_0_markdevlan_ent_b_6_0").Page("ent_b_6_0_markdevlan_ent_b_6_0").WebEdit("LoginPassword").SetSecure "Something"