Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Not able to select controls using Object Spy
Not Solved
Hello All,

I'm very new to QTP and automation and so please bear with me. I downloaded QTP 11.0 version and was going through the steps given in the help. While working on test objects, it is mentioned that when the little pointed finger is clicked and assuming that http://newtours.demoaut.com is already open, it would let us select the controls on the page, when we move the cursor on the page. When I did move my cursor on the page, I see winobject, wintoolbar being selected covering the entire page or toolbar, but not the individual controls on 'em. In the document it is also mentioned that when username text field is selected, it shows webedit in the object hierarchy but as mentioned, it is showing winobject to me. Is there any settings change needed to have the individual controls be selected. Please advice.

Thanks
RG

Attached Files Image(s)

Not Solved
hi

Just refresh ur browser and restart ur QTP. It will works fine. I too faced this problem, after restart my QTP it works fine. Try it and let me know ur feedback.

Cheers,
Preethu.
Not Solved
Hi Preethu,

I did refreshed the browser and restarted the QTP, but the problem remains same. One thing which I observed here is when I move the cursor over the browser, the cursor is always pointed finger mode, just like we see it over hypernlinks. It would not change even though we move over the controls on the page. Also, the entire page is selected, when I move over the page. If I click on any control or any place on the page, it is showing as Internet Explorer_server in Object Hierarchy.

Any advice.
Not Solved
Hi,

Make sure you have opened QTP first and then the Browser.

That being said, close all the opened browsers, close QTP, restart QTP and then open your application.

Now it should work fine (If Web Add-ins is installed properly and associated with the test which is default)
Not Solved