Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
QTP "Cannot identify the object"
Solved: 10 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago
First off, I have been using QTP for only two months so bear with me.

I have been tasked to learn QTP and support a suite of "record and play" test scripts.

These screen gadgets are static. The 'content' of the screen gadgets is dynamic, but new gadgets do not appear and none disappear.

I have an issue where the test causes a new browser window to pop up. Dozens of other scripts in the suite bring up a new window and QTP and those scripts have no problems. But this script has an issue.

Line (27):
Code:
"Browser("").Page("").WebList("Apply").Select("HHH")".

brings up this error:
"Cannot identify the object "Apply" (of class WebList). Verify that this object's properties match an object currently displayed in your application."

I am new at QTP, but I am an experienced programmer, tho not with VB.

"HHH" is an item in the list.

This is not a Sync issue, neither Browser("").Page("").Sync or Wait( ) helped. The web page has finished rendering.

I rebuilt the offending line and used the hints from the editor. The syntax is correct and the object names agree with the Local Repository.

I wrapped the misbehaving code with:
Code:
IF Browser("").Page("").Exist THEN
        Browser("").Page("").WebList("Apply").Select("HHH")
    END IF
and the same error was thrown. QTP sees the browser and page.

The "Highlight in the application" tool did highlight the web list in the application.

I rebuilt this page in the Local Repository and still got the error.

The "Update from Application" tool did not make the error go away.

But, the "Locate in Repository" tool said: "Cannot locate this object in the object repository."

So what do I not understand? The object is there. The page is visible and stable in the browser. The Repository agrees with the code. The Repository was built from the page, but the Repository does not recognize the gadget on web page.