Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Using only a Shared Repository
Solved: 10 Years, 9 Months ago
Good day all,
I'm new to the forums and have a question I can't find the answer to. I hope someone can help. I've taken a couple of online classes, but other than that, I'm self taught in QTP.

Here is my issue.
Background info:
I'm using a terminal emulator for Extra.
The screen names and object names that QTP gets from the program when recording makes no sense and is almost alway TOO specific to actually be played back.
I have built a shared repository manually with screen names and object names with properties specific enough to be found every time but general enough that they can be found with any iteration.
I want to associate this shared repository with an action that I want to program. (I can do this part)
The action I'm going to program is very long and complicated so I REALLY want to record it once and just tweek it to use the DataTable where needed.
The Problem:
When I record the action, QTP creates a new local repository rather than using my manually created shared repository.
One solution:
I can edit the QTP script manually changing the screen and object names to look at my shared repository and it works. But that is a lot of work for this automation that is going to end up being tens of thousands of lines long.
My Question:
How do I FORCE QTP to look at and record from ONLY my shared repository?

Again, I'm mostly self taught, so if this is a rediculously easy solution, I appologize for my ignorance.

Brian
I think you will have run your test using AUT
Open the test and load your required repository before running your scripts

Code:
Dim qtApp
Set qtApp = CreateObject("QuickTest.Application")
Dim qtRepositories
Set qtRepositories = qtApp.Test.Actions("Main").ObjectRepositories
qtRepositories.Add("C:VS.tsr")